Scottish Curry Awards 2012

Posted on News May 2012 - by Tandoori Editor
Scottish Curry Awards 2012

Nominations are now being taken for the Hungryhouse Scottish Curry Awards, with the awards ceremony taking place June 11 at Glasgow’s Thistle Hotel.

The awards, which have been running since 2008, offers the public the chance for the Scottish public to vote for the winners in eight categories; Curry lover of the Year Award, Best Supermarket Curry Award, Team of the Year, Chef of the Year, Take Away of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, Restaurant of the Year and Curry King or Queen 2012.

Yasmin Mahood, from the event organiser, Oceanic Consulting, said: “Food is something which people get really passionate about, whether it's the chefs who take pride in their creations or the public who love nothing more than a great meal out. This passion is why we decided to put on the awards in the first place and the great response we received last year has me looking forward to see how it grows."

Among last year’s winners were Balbir’s in Glasgow who won the Restaurant of the Year Award and Ajmal Mushtaq of Mushtaq’s in Hamilton, who won the Chef of the Year award. For more information and to download nomination form visit,

So far it has 1869 views
Tandoori Magazine Home of Indian Food

There are no comments on this article.

Comment on this Article

You must be registered and logged to be able to comment on this article.

To create an accout Register here

Auto-login on future visits Show my name in the online users list Forgot your password?